Ombre is the New Black – by Tobi Crawford

Ombre is the new black.

It is.

It’s everywhere: fashion, hair, home decor, and of course: crafts!It’s Blogstar Tobi Crawford here showing you how I’ve interpreted this latest trend.

First off, I have to admit to always being a fan of ombre. I have always organized my supplies in ROY G BIV order AND light-to-dark so I guess you could say that I’m ahead of the trend. hahaha.. But really, this is a trend I feel like I can do!
First off, I decided on a colour (in this case, orange), and I gathered my cardstock and found tones that worked with each other and obviously went light-to-dark.
march18ombre1

To “jazz up” the layers a little bit I cut a fringe into the papers AND I added some Aged Gold Embossing Enamel to just the ends. How did I do it? It was easy, I just dragged the Boss Gloss dabber over the fringe and dunked it into the embossing enamel. Heat. Done. And so pretty, right?

march18ombre2

The cardstock looked a little plain to me, so I stamped a background pattern onto the layers with VersaMark and the Cling Dream Text background stamp. I’m not usually a just cardstock person, so this helped me let that go a little..

march18ombre3

And here is the completed card! I added a little sentiment from Agapanthus Thank You Perfectly Clear Set and tied a pretty gold bow and that was it. I think a pretty ombre background like this doesn’t need much else!   By the way, all these products are available at Michaels Stores! You could be embossing ombre by tonight!

By the way, my inspiration for this card was  Here on Julia Stainton’s Blog!

3 thoughts on “Ombre is the New Black – by Tobi Crawford

We read every comment before posting it to avoid SPAM. Please be patient while we review your comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.